Ten Things I Think I Think About Parenting - The Sixth Month

Hello Friends and Family,

Happy New Year! It is once again time for my monthly hot takes on parenting. As a reminder, each month for the first year of Mills’ life I am going to put some initial thoughts down about parenting in real time.

I might be completely wrong about some or all of these, but here’s where I am today after six months.

Ten Things I Think I Think About Parenting After Six Months

  1. Christmas is 100% more fun with kids. It is already pretty amazing, but adding Mills to the mix made it even more fun than normal. He loved the lights on the tree, he loved wrapping paper, and he loves his new toys.

  2. Managing and adapting your expectations is the key to less frustration and more fun. Kids aren’t adults. Babies are especially not adults. From car rides to eating out, life is much more enjoyable when you manage your expectations. It gets even better when you also choose to quickly adapt your expectations to reality.

Mills opening his very first Christmas present. - Atlanta, GA | 12/23/2023

  1. Kids need three things: Food, Shelter, and parents that love them. No matter how many toys or experiences we buy, they can’t replace any of the three needs.

Mills and Austin all dressed up for Christmas Eve dinner with the Ewings. - Atlanta, GA | 12/24/2023

  1. Every kid should have a pet. It has been so fun to watch Mills start to interact with Willow and vice versa. He learning how to pet gently and she is learning how not to lick Mills’ face. (Neither one of them seems to be catching on to our lessons.)

  2. When your baby laughs at something you did for the first time you feel like the greatest comedian in the world. When your baby immediately turns and looks at a dinner plate and gives the same laugh…well lets just say my dreams of a Netflix special are gone.

Willow licking Mills in the face immediately after being told not to do that again. - Atlanta, GA | 12/12/2023

  1. Kids should be outside from an early age. I’m not a doctor and I have no studies to back this up, but the days that we do something outside are always good days. Everything is new for Mills so the more we can expose him to the better. Hot, Cold, Windy, Rainy, Snowy, doesn’t matter. Get those kids outside!

Austin and Mills on the summit of Stone Mountain. Mills’ first summit hike! - Stone Mountain, GA | 12/5/2023

  1. The earlier you start practicing something the more automatic it will become when it really matters. We are already starting to practice how we speak to each other when Mills can hear us. He doesn’t know when Courtney is frustrated with me or what that sounds like, but he will one day. We aren’t waiting. We are starting now so that when it really matters it will be automatic.

  2. I haven’t read a single book about milestones in a baby’s life and no one else should either. I have no idea when he is supposed to start rolling over, talking, walking, teething, or anything. I firmly believe that has helped me to remove any and all expectations.

    At Mill’s 6 month appointment his pediatrician remarked about something Mills did and I asked, “Is that advanced?”

    The doctor thought I was one of those type A parents until Courtney said, “No, he’s genuinely asking because he has no idea.”

    We explained why I have no idea and instead of concern she was delighted to learn that I was trying to simply let Mills be Mills.

Mills’ cousins, Elsie and Jack, helping him on family picture day. - Jackson, TN | 11/24/2023

  1. You will never regret doing the hard stuff for your kids. We had already sold our home and knew we were moving, but we decorated the house for Christmas anyway. We knew we were adding hours and hours of additional work to our move, but we don’t regret it. I don’t know what the hard stuff is for your family, but do it anyway. You’ll never remember that Netflix show or that funny Instagram reel anyway.

Mills exploring his first Christmas tree. - Atlanta, GA | 11/26/2023

  1. Soak in all the firsts. I don’t care how busy you are, stop for a minute and just enjoy all the firsts. Mills will never remember any of these, but I’ll never forget them. First baseball games, first Christmas tree, first Thanksgiving, first hike, etc. The number of firsts is almost infinite, but it’s worth taking a few minutes to cherish each one. (Even the first time Auburn football lets you down.)

Mill’s watching Rudolph for the first time. (While holding Rudolph.) - Atlanta, GA | 12/3/2023

After 6 months I know less about parenting that I did when I started. I think that’s the best way. I’m just going to keep letting Mills teach me.

Until our next Adventure,

Austin, Courtney, Mills, and Willow

If you were forwarded this newsletter and would like to keep up with our adventures, please hit that subscribe button below!

We send a new email every Monday morning so you can start your week with a little adventure!