Ten Things I Think I Think About Parenting After Ten Months

Hello Friends and Family,

It is once again time for my monthly hot takes on parenting. As a reminder, each month for the first year of Mills’ life I am going to put some initial thoughts down about parenting in real time.

I might be completely wrong about some or all of these, but here’s where I am today after ten months.

Ten Things I Think I Think About Parenting After Ten Months

  1. Kids, even babies, need more room to roam. One of the things we talked about a lot was our desire to use as few restraint devices as possible with Mills. We wanted him to explore and really figure out his environment.

    We knew that meant we would have more work to do, but we were more than willing to make that trade if it meant Mills got the opportunity to learn.

Mills learning that chairs can be fun climbing gyms. - Denver, CO | 3/23/2024

  1. Projects are slower with kids, but involve them anyway. Mills got to watch me work on my car and even got to “help” a bit with some sound deadening. He didn’t know what he was doing and neither did I. What I am doing is more for me at this point. I am conditioning myself to slow down and enjoy the process.

Mills helping with the KilMat. - Denver, CO | 3/23/2024

  1. Kids need to be outside as often as possible. Mills has spent so much time outside that merely taking him to the yard works better than a pacifier when he’s fussy.

    There is something so pure and life giving about the outdoors, even babies sense it. God created the ultimate playground, we merely have to use it.

Austin and Mills waiting for the snow to start. - Fort Collins, CO | 3/24/2024

  1. It is nice sometimes to just “be”. I am used to just going and going and going, but stopping to rest is a good thing for parents…and kids. I think everyone needs to have a daily nap. Someone tell my boss!

    Sit around the house and be goofy. Let your kids see you having fun with nothing but the people around you. Especially, them.

The cutest Easter Bunny wearing a Valentine’s Day onesie you’ve ever seen. - Denver, CO | 3/25/2024

  1. You don’t have to buy the school pictures, so don’t.

Mills getting his first school pictures. We didn’t buy any. We aren’t missing anything. - Denver, CO | 3/27/2024

  1. Take the kids to the restaurant…even the nice and trendy ones. They are going to have to learn eventually. Just do it. You’ll be fine.

Mills with his Aunt Meredith at Little Ollie’s. - Denver, CO | 3/29/2024

  1. Put your kid in a restraint device as needed. I know, I know, I just said kids need to roam. Sometimes parents need a break, sometimes only one parent is at home and needs to make dinner or do laundry. So, do what works for you.

Mills in prison. - Denver, CO | 3/29/2024

  1. Mills will never remember living in Atlanta. We left Atlanta for Denver on Christmas Day, 2023. Mills was three days past six months old. He won’t remember his fourth drive between Atlanta and Denver. Most of the things parents are sad about don’t affect the kids at all. Remember that.

Austin and Mills in their Masters gear. - Denver, CO | 4/13/2024

  1. Everything that happens to Mills is normal to him. Living in a place where it snows in May, a dog licking his face all day long, a dad who likes to sit with him on the porch after work and just watch the world go by together. It is daunting to think that I get to play a big part in creating the world he considers “normal.”

Mills watching the snow in mid-April. - Denver, CO | 4/19/2024

  1. Nothing beats spending time with family and introducing Mills to the people I’ve known my WHOLE LIFE. One benefit of living in Denver is that so many people come here for vacation, and that includes family.

Mills and Uncle Adam. - Denver, CO | 4/20/2024

Month 10 was one for the books. So many new experiences and fun things happened.

Until our next Adventure,

Austin, Courtney, Mills, and Willow

If you were forwarded this newsletter and would like to keep up with our adventures, please hit that subscribe button below!